The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

Berkeley Bowl Lunch

with 3 comments

This was a beautiful lunch. I mean, I am aware it’s totally blurry in the picture, but it was a thing of beauty. Spicy tuna, a little bit of lettuce, crisp cucumber, and the avocado. There was rice at the bottom of the bowl. I mixed my wasabi with some soy and poured it over and it was incredible.  I’m not capable of producing something like this at home — so I’m very glad that our local grocery store (which is called The Berkeley Bowl) has it in its prepared foods case, and it is so fresh and delicious.

Written by bloglily

July 25, 2008 at 11:06 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love seeing what you’re having for lunch!

    There’s a version of this that I always eat at a Japanese restaurant near my parents house. It’s run by Koreans, so I don’t know if the dish is Korean, Japanese, or a Korean take on Japanese…but anyway, it’s a great big salad with sashimi and rice. Mmmm…

    Bora

    July 25, 2008 at 11:27 am

  2. Hello Bora. MMMM indeed. I love sashimi, rice and lettuce.

    bloglily

    July 25, 2008 at 12:07 pm

  3. It’s not as far beyond your abilities as you think. Spicy tuna is very easy to make and only has 3 ingredients. Here is an easy tutorial with clear pictures. http://www.sushiencyclopedia.com/how_to_make_sushi/spicy_tuna_recipe.html

    Kelly

    June 22, 2010 at 1:53 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

