The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

Green Smoothies

with 5 comments

This is the beginning of the green smoothie.  It starts off a lovely yellow color and then it becomes green, right after you add the green stuff.  Here it is kale.

I know.  A little troubling.  In fact, however, they are really quite good.  I’ve been drinking these since the new year, and they are doing me some good — more energy, mostly.  The other claims I’ve seen, the ones about how your gray hair will revert to its original color, and your sex life will become, well, you know, really great, and  your mental state will show great improvement?  Nope.  I hasten to add that none of that stuff has been bothering me anyway.   

I drink one of these every day, and I put it in a stainless steel water bottle thing that I really, really like because it keeps things pretty cold and there’s no weird smell from this thing.  Ever.  

Should you wish to inject more energy into your day, the Green Smoothie basically consists of:

2 bananas

a cup or so of frozen fruit

three handfuls of greens (mostly, I use kale and spinach, favoring spinach because it is already washed from those bags you get at Trader Joe’s, and besides, it’s organic). 

the juice of one lemon

enough water to fill up the blender

I like to think that the whole thing is mine to drink, but one or two of the tiffin children generally  have some too.

 I know it’s February, but happy new year anyway!

Written by bloglily

February 7, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gorgeous and vibrant pictures! Yum!

    I love green smoothies… they’re a staple in our family and everyone is crazy for them.

    Cheers,
    Kristen

    Kristen's Raw

    February 8, 2009 at 1:44 pm

  2. I may have to try that, though adding another layer of complexity to our getting-out-first-thing-in-the-morning routine will probably require two helpings…

    (un)relaxeddad

    February 9, 2009 at 9:57 am

  3. U-Dad, I think this might add too much complexity! But I do love them, and think they’re worth all the noise, and banana peels.

    Hello Kristen and welcome — Thanks. Everyone in our family is not, unfortunately, crazy about the smoothies. But some of them drink them and like them just fine. It’s been a month, and I think these are a thing we aren’t going to give up.

    bloglily

    February 9, 2009 at 11:38 am

  4. These photos are gorgeous! Makes me wish I were home right now so I could whip up a batch. :)

    What all did you put in the first picture that’s so creamy yellow-orange???

    Angela

    March 17, 2009 at 12:57 pm

  5. Angela — frozen mangoes, strawberries and a squirt of lemon. But shortly after that, I moved on to frozen strawberries which are cheaper and really tasty. The color of the smoothie becomes sort of chocolate-like, which I’m a big fan of.

    bloglily

    April 23, 2009 at 9:32 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

