The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

A Course Correction

with 3 comments

 

Just as the worst time to open an umbrella store is during a drought, the worst time to begin a blog devoted to packed lunches (most of which are meant to accompany children to school) is during summer vacation. What was I thinking?

For a while, I’ve been getting by showing you pictures of my favorite containers. But that’s not what I promised. I promised to show you packed food so delicious that other children would literally offer your child their ipod AND their cell if your child would let them eat a tiny bit of your child’s lunch. Food so remarkable and jewel-like that your co-workers will try to steal it the instant your back is turned.

Alas, it is not lunch-packing season.

What to do? I’m not entirely sure. I’ve noticed some interest in lunch box notes — so perhaps I’ll post some downloadable ones. Maybe I’ll post picnics we have around here. I’m going to take a few days to think about it. If you end up at this site, tell me why you came and what you might like to find here, unless you’re the person who found me by typing in “tiffin sex tonight.” You want somebody else.

Written by bloglily

July 6, 2006 at 4:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. While you focus on the containers themselves, how about posting what to *put* in the containers.

    When I packed lunches for my kids, we were so broke I did things like make popcorn instead of packing potato chips, hot milk cake instead of cookies, free cheese slices, and a piece of fruit. As well as a sandwich of some sort. Sometimes it just takes a look or two or a recipe or two to inspire your lunch making.

    I watch the Food Channel not to do the actual recipes, but to be entertained and get other ideas for meals.

    Picnic pictures would be nice too.

    Sue Crocker

    July 7, 2006 at 7:52 am

  2. Exactly my thought: what goes in the container is of more interest than the container itself. In fact, I’ve been thinking a lot about the metaphor this presents and I’m even writing about it on my other blog. For now, though, I’ll say that you are exactly right. I’m going to make a Susan lunch for my boys next week when they are off to campl. Thank you for this wonderful comment, Susan. xxoo, L

    bloglily

    July 7, 2006 at 10:04 am

  3. Love ya too. 🙂

    Here’s a link to Bento Boxes Pool over on Flickr.

    I get your pictures via an RSS feed, so I wait for the blog entry to go with them. RSS feeds for that too.

    Sue Crocker

    July 7, 2006 at 10:17 am


Leave a Reply

