The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

Summer Tiffin

with 4 comments

My Dear Reader,

The Tiffin Tin will be on vacation until August 30, which is the first day of school around here. We’re on a brief break now, waiting for fall, the time for packed lunches:and when that time comes around, this site will feature all the lovely things we pack and bring with us for the journey, generally the journey my three children make to school, but my own as well.

Enjoy the rest of your summer. See you August 30.

The Tiffin Tin

Written by bloglily

July 15, 2006 at 3:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh Lily dear! I am sitting here doing some menu planning (an area in which I am hopelessly challenged) and preparing mentally for lunchboxes (an area in which I take an inordinate amount of pleasure and pride). I wanted to find the lovely tiffin tin that I saw recently in Real Simple and so did a google search for “Tiffin Tin Real Simple”…..imagine my joy when you popped up!

    How is it possible that we have never shared our love of gorgeous, ab fab containers for food storage? We have quite a collection of Frigoverre, and although it is a bit pricey, it is sturdy and if you can find it on sale – worth every penny!

    This weekend I must visit the Koreana Plaza – it sounds wonderful.

    I am sure that Freud would have had a field day with my bordering-on-obsession with wanting to package up everything in life neatly and clearly, beautifully and safely. Do they make child size tiffin tins?
    – and by that I mean tiffin tins that would neatly, clearly, beautifully and safely contain and keep a child?

    Karoline

    Karoline

    August 11, 2006 at 11:33 pm

  2. I remember a quirky science fiction show where the children slept in Tupperware containers. πŸ™‚

    School in Kansas City starts on the 21st.

    Sue Crocker

    August 12, 2006 at 5:26 am

  3. Hello Karoline darling, I can see that the Tiffin Tin is going to have to become a community blog. We need a lunch packer for each day of the school week and someone who will do weekend tiffining. We will also need to invent a new vocabulary.

    I did sense your container, um, devotion, from the lovely ikea container you once brought to my house and left (well, in truth I failed to return it for about four months because I loved its lid so much.)

    The truth that we cannot contain and keep our children is one of the hardest of all.

    Sue — NO! That’s very funny. Come to think of it, you probably could retrofit a Tupperware container to make it comfortable. How can school start that early? W starts on August 30. The older boys begin after Labor Day.

    xxoo, Lily

    bloglily

    August 12, 2006 at 9:05 am

  4. I am so rejoicing.. Becky goes back to college, Aly to school, Gracie and Brandon to daycare. My days of babysitting are DONE!!!! πŸ™‚

    Becky had almost 4 months of being home with Brandon before going back to school.

    Staying on topic, Becky was going to go look for a lunchbox for herself. I mentioned coming here to look for ideas.

    Sue Crocker

    August 20, 2006 at 5:25 pm


Leave a Reply

