The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

Not Your Usual Hot Dog

with one comment

A quick word. It’ll have to be quick, because I’ve got almost no power left in my battery and I’m not supposed to get out of bed to go downstairs to get my cord. (I had surgery this morning and I’m supposed to be lying around, recovering.)

Tiniest Tiffin’s review of today’s School Lunch Initiative lunch: Hot dogs. They were pretty okay. But they ran out of ketchup. Hot carrots. ( I recycled them, is how he described their fate. I think that means he doesn’t like his carrots warm.)

Here’s the most interesting news (besides the fact that I happen to know those hot dogs were nitrate free, and made out of organic meat. They are not your ordinary hot dogs): The salad bar was really great. You heard that right. They’ve installed what sounds like a very nice salad bar in the elementary school cafeteria. And there’s more than just lettuce in there, he reports. He told me proudly about how he made himself a Caesar salad — lettuce, dressing. And that the salad bar has more things than just lettuce: tomatoes, strawberries and “veggies.” I don’t think he put any of it on his plate, but I can tell he’s interested in it. The salad bar perfectly fits a second grader’s desire for freedom of choice. Good for the Renegade Lunch Lady.

Written by bloglily

September 5, 2006 at 9:24 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t like warm carrots. The only time I can eat them is in a stew. But glad to hear that things went well. Make sure the boys and the husband treat you well.

    Sue Crocker

    September 6, 2006 at 1:52 am


Leave a Reply

