The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

I Like You Because

with 4 comments

Middle school lunch for the Tiffin Twins has been a little tricky this week because we only have one lunchbox, the one they used all last year to carry their lunch in. It’s huge, and they had an elaborate system for deciding who’d carry it to school and who’d carry it out to lunch and who’d carry it home. Now, they’re going to different middle schools and so, for the first time in their lives, they won’t be eating lunch in the same room. One of the Tiffin Twins kept the massive lunchbox. The other one asked for a paper bag.

What I’ve pictured above went into the very big Tiffin Twin lunchbox, the one that’s now used by a single twin. Note: that is way, way too much salami. I knew it as I was cutting it up, but I didn’t take it out. He’d asked for that much and I was curious: would he actually eat it? (the answer? Yes. Tomorrow, not so much of that kind of thing.) On the menu: Niman Ranch salami (made without nitrates or other yucky stuff), Acme sourdough baguette, cheddar cheese, Straus Family Creamery nonfat maple yogurt, amazing green grapes that taste like nothing I’ve ever had before, more grape-y than anything, a few blueberries, a hard boiled egg (for snack) and salt in a container too large for salt, but the best i could do.

Closed, the containers look like this:

And the note? Tiniest Tiffin hasn’t been getting along with one of his older brothers all that well. I asked him to think of one nice thing his brother has done for him and write it down. His first response was, I like my brother because he taught me all the bad words. I asked him to try again. This is what he came up with. (Yesterday, his brother actually got up and made him a bagel for a snack, after one request on my part and he did it with good humor.)


I think you can get the idea. Tiniest Tiffin got a little mixed up trying to write I like you because…. but he added that dollar of his own volition. It was his way of making it count.

Written by bloglily

September 7, 2006 at 9:34 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ahhh… how sweet. Why are the twins going to different middle schools?

    Sue Crocker

    September 8, 2006 at 12:04 am

  2. I found myself laughing out loud with that unbelievably cute note! and the dollar… hilarious! your children sure sound unique, BL, you’re doing a great job (imho). Hope you’re doing well- 🙂

    martadc

    September 8, 2006 at 4:46 am

  3. Hi Sue — They were going to the same place, but then one of the boys had the chance to go to a school that’s uniquely suited to his desire to sing, and we all thought he should take a shot at that. So far, so good.
    Marta — Thank you. They’re all pretty different little boys — and yes, I’d go with unique as an adjective. Hope you’re well too. BL

    bloglily

    September 8, 2006 at 8:28 am

  4. Ahhh… the family singing gene. I certainly didn’t get it. Both Becky and Andrew have it, so I thought it was a Coleman gene. But then again, their cousins Monica and Bobby have it. 🙂

    Sue Crocker

    September 8, 2006 at 10:06 am


Leave a Reply

