The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

Up Next: Whole Grains

with 3 comments

Grilled chicken (brined first in 1/2 cup kosher salt for each 2 pounds of chicken), chocolate chip cookie, grapes, yogurt with raspberries. (I just realized I forgot — again — to put in a spoon. Poor thing.)

This is a fine lunch. It contains not a single whole grain, however. (I read yesterday that there should be something like 4-5 servings of whole grains a day.)Β  Today, I think I’ll make something nice with whole wheat flour, something like banana bread or cinammon bread. I’ll report back tomorrow.

And a note on the Berkeley School Lunch Initiative: This morning we looked at the menu, because we were running late and wanted not to make lunch for Tiniest Tiffin. Hmm. Baked teriyaki fish. I don’t know about you, but that didn’t sound appetizing. I think it might be delicious. Still, something more needs to be done here: how you describe something matters.

Tiniest Tiffin did, however, have breakfast at school. I noticed they’ve begun to include nice little paper trays with each breakfast. This is a fine, fine improvement. One class, a class with enterprising parents (kindergarten of course) had already set the food up before the children arrived. The table looked like a table you’d want to sit at. The muffins were nice. They had fruit in them. They were whole grain and delicious. (Every child who needed to eat breakfast ate one.) The orange juice was frozen still, and the children made slushies out of them. The juice carton was smaller than the milk carton, which is exactly as it should be.

The teacher saved the yogurts and fruit for a snack later in the morning. Smart woman. While not every child needs to eat breakfast at school (some eat at home), they could all use a snack at around 10:30 or 11:00 and very few of them bring a snack along.

Written by bloglily

September 12, 2006 at 12:00 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Paper trays mean trash. No ability to recycle or reuse. Unless the school has a place for them to recycle.

    I’ve taken over the responsibility of being the person who provides real plates/cups/silverware for our 35 member church. We’ve stopped throwing away paper coffee cups and paper plates.

    Sure, I have dishes to do, but I can have others help with that chore. It’s every Sunday.

    We have a before and after church coffee/juice/fruit/dessert bar. I tend to be the one with the fruit every few weeks.

    Sue Crocker

    September 12, 2006 at 1:26 pm

  2. I should take a photo of the lunchroom. There aren’t any trash cans. Just a can to recycle food scraps (for the school garden’s compost heap) and a can to recycle everything else, including the trays, which I’m guessing are made from something else that’s had another life before being recycled.

    Do you have curbside recycling in Kansas City? In Berkeley and Oakland it’s every week, outside your house. It’s pretty easy to do and we’ve stopped throwing away anything made out of paper, glass, aluminum. The only tricky thing is plastic, and if I can, I try not to buy it, but that’s just not always possible.

    One thing I like about our school lunches is that we almost never use plastic bags, which are hugely wasteful — expensive, a burden on the landfill and not very attractive.

    It’s funny how many obsessions we share, Sue!

    bloglily

    September 12, 2006 at 1:35 pm

  3. That’s because we’re related. πŸ™‚

    We have curbsite recycling here, and we have paper recycling at church. So I break down the recycling based on that.

    Glass they don’t do here. The one thing we don’t have to do is separate the trash. It all goes into a single bin. Which I’m not so sure is a good idea. But I’ll bet they employ workers to separate trash later.

    I’ve been using cloth grocery bags instead of string ones. The cloth bags hold more, and cost less. Fifty cents a bag. I get a five cent credit for each cloth bag I use.

    Becky recycles as well. The only problem is that Gracie puts her diapers in there instead of the trash can.

    Some things I’ll use cloth for, but diapers is one of those things I won’t. There are all kinds of reasons to use cloth, but as the grandparent of two kids in diapers, I don’t want to do so much laundry. They don’t live with me, but they get changed enough over here. πŸ™‚

    Sue Crocker

    September 12, 2006 at 2:59 pm


Leave a Reply

