The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

A Tiffin For Mom

with 2 comments

I like packed lunches as much as my boys — maybe more than they do. But I don’t often enough make one for myself. Proof of that? It’s October, and I’m just getting around to thinking about my own lunches. That’s about to change.

This lovely tiffin tin was waiting for me when I walked in the door Friday afternoon. It’s gleaming silver and ready to be filled. Except today’s Saturday. So I packed a lunch to take with me to Tiniest Tiffin’s soccer game.

(edamame, a little cheese, some Acme pain au levain, and two kinds of organic grapes.)

This isn’t a huge tin and it’s best for food that’s good cool or at room temperature. It seems ideal for salads of all kinds (green salads, composed salads, lentil salad, that sort of thing). It’s an easy size to transport and to put in the fridge at work, or at home . I’ve got some smaller dishes to put in it to make compartments, for those days when I want to bring a composed salad, and don’t want (gasp) different foods to touch.

And one word on moms who work at home and moms who work outside the home: one thing we all need is a decent lunch, nicely prepared, with an eye to good health. Feed yourself the same way you’d feed any of your loved ones: with care, and thought, and love. If you give your children a chocolate kiss, give yourself one too.

Written by bloglily

October 7, 2006 at 7:05 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As a work at home grandma, I tend to graze from the fridge instead of actually take a lunch break. I’m considering tiffining up my lunch and avoiding the fridge. 🙂

    Sue Crocker

    October 18, 2006 at 3:47 am

  2. I think that’s actually a wonderful idea. And then you could take pictures of it and post it and …. wait a minute! That’s MY blog. xxoo, Lily

    bloglily

    October 18, 2006 at 9:23 am


Leave a Reply

