The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

Farmer’s Market Lunch

with 2 comments

Here’s a look at today’s lunch. It started with lovely bread from the farmer’s market on Sunday. Sliced very thin. To this was added Niman Ranch salami (it’s been several weeks since we last had salami, a favorite food for several of the Tiffin children and one we have only every so often.) One child is a veg eater, so into his divided box (made by lock -n-lock, a leak-proof Korean product) went olives and cucumbers. The other two children got strawberries and wonderful concord grapes from the farmer’s market. Here they are:

The above is a lunch for fruit eating children. (Two children got this lunch. Tiffin Tiniest and one of the Tiffin Twins. ) The child who only likes vegetables (in other words, he’s not crazy about fruit), got this version):

I put in a little Straus Family Creamery maple nonfat yogurt and everyone was happy. I also made myself a little breakfast while I was at it. The same maple nonfat yogurt, the same strawberries and some Newman’s Own organic blueberry cereal.


This was great to take to work. The tin fit in my computer bag, and it has such a stable bottom that it didn’t tip over. It fit perfectly in the fridge and stayed cold. And I even liked how it looked on my desk, which is where I put it when I was done. Tomorrow, I’ve got to make a something out of nothing lunch for the boys because I can’t for the life of me figure out what new thing I’m going to fix. But that’s what the morning’s for!

Written by bloglily

October 10, 2006 at 9:02 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hungry! You’re making my hungry!

    Let’s see – lunches.. chili. It’s getting colder here, time for making crockpot recipes, home made soups, that sort of thing.

    Have you seen the site Bento TV

    Sue Crocker

    October 11, 2006 at 11:30 am

  2. Yes, chili it is! I took some out of the freezer this morning and it’s waiting for tomorrow. We make it with ground buffalo, which is surprisingly delish, and very low in fat. xo, L

    bento tv — nope. But I’m about to go over there. You are a wonder, Ms. Research Editor.

    bloglily

    October 11, 2006 at 4:31 pm


Leave a Reply

