The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

You Love My Lunch More Than You Love Me

with 7 comments

No, honey, I don’t love Straus Family Creamery maple yogurt, apple crisp I made last night from tart organic apples, a meltingly beautiful piece of ham on crunchy, but yielding bread, and the last, most lapidary grapes of the year, the kind that seem translucent and are so sweet you want to cry… no, I don’t love your lunch more than you. It’s supposed to go like this: You’re the one who loves your lunch. I’m the one who loves you.

I know you were trying to make me laugh, because I was a little grumpy this morning, discovering that you and your brothers had managed to lose the tops to almost every lock & lock container we own. And it did make me laugh.

But I also think you need a little more attention in the morning, and you need to be the one taking the picture of your beautiful lunch and you also need to be up a little earlier so you can do a little more to help make your lunch. And then maybe when the shutter closes on your lunch, you won’t see those beautiful grapes but how much I love you, more than I’ve ever loved anything, including those beautiful grapes.

Still, when you grow up, I hope you remember that apple crisp is an incredible thing to have hot or cold, and that you’ll make it for your children, who will surely know, as you do, that a parent loves a child with more passion and commitment than they love anything else in the world. And sometimes all they can do to show you that is make you apple crisp.

Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking For Everyone provides the inspiration for this wonderful apple crisp. (Okay, more than the inspiration — she is the goddess who gives us this recipe.)

Crisp Topping

6 tablespoons butter (cut it into chunks — it should be cold. If you’re concerned about the type of fat, you can also use canola oil, or can mix canola with a nut oil.)
3/4 cup brown sugar

2/3 cup flour (I used unbleached white flour — I think whole wheat would be good here too)

1/2 cup rolled oats (you can also use chopped nuts, something I’ll try with walnuts at some point when my kids like nuts more)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Work together all these ingredients with your fingers, using the mixer with the paddle attachment or the food processor until the butter’s crumbly. You want a “coarse, crumbly mixture.”

And then you put it on top of fruit that you’ve prepared and placed in a shallow 8 x 10 baking dish you’ve lightly buttered. Cook at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes.

For apple crisp, you’ll want to do this to the fruit to get it ready for that lovely crisp topping:

2 1/2 pounds apples, peeled, cored, sliced thin. Toss with 1 teaspoon cinammon, 1 teaspoon lemon zest, 1 tablespoon lemon juice and 2 tablespoons sugar.

Written by bloglily

October 19, 2006 at 9:30 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a lovely lunch!

    Your pictures are really wonderful — what camera are you using?

    Take care!

    Julie

    October 19, 2006 at 3:13 pm

  2. Julie, you’re so sweet. It’s a canon eos something. When we next have lunch (and I swear to god I won’t take pictures of what we’re eating … I think), I’ll bring it. xo, L

    bloglily

    October 20, 2006 at 1:23 am

  3. Snicker. Doug has gotten used to me photographing at our means. You’re using a Canon PowerShot S3 IS

    How do I know? I’m psychic.. or is that psychotic? Actually, it tells me when I look at your picture inside of Flickr.

    I haven’t made apple crisp in years, thanks for the recipe. I may just make this with Alyssa.

    Sue Crocker

    October 20, 2006 at 7:16 am

  4. Meant to say meals. 🙂

    Strawberry Limeade

    Sue Crocker

    October 20, 2006 at 7:20 am

  5. Oh I knew that!

    And thank you Ms. Research Editor and Photography Guru — how embarrassing is it that I don’t know the type of camera I use?

    bloglily

    October 20, 2006 at 10:39 am

  6. Hey, it’s just a tool. The talent is with the photographer, not the tool. The tool helps, but it doesn’t make the shot.

    I’ve taken lots of photos with my 3.2 mega pixel Sony camera (S85) and lots with my 10 mega pixel Canon Digital Rebel XTI.

    I was pleasantly surprised how well the Sony held up even though I’d not used it for a few years. I’m still using it.

    Sue Crocker

    October 20, 2006 at 12:52 pm

  7. […] No, honey, I don’t love Straus Family Creamery maple yogurt, apple crisp I made last night from tart organic apples, a meltingly beautiful piece of ham on crunchy, but yielding bread, and the last, most lapidary grapes of the year, the kind that seem translucent and are so sweet you want to cry… no, I don’t love your lunch more … Posted by bloglilyCool post i think. what do you think?Link to original article […]


Leave a Reply

