The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

New Lunchboxes

with 4 comments

It’s been what — six weeks? — since school started. And in that time, we’ve (well, they’ve) managed to lose pretty much all the lovely lock & lock containers I bought earlier in the school year. Plus two canvas bags. And all our water containers. When asked for an explanation, Tiniest Tiffin said this: “I don’t MEAN to lose the containers except when I forget them. ” (It’s like living with a miniature Yogi Berra; my favorite Yogi Berra-ism I’m not as dumb as I am.)

Huge digression. Sorry. Back to lunchboxes. I went to Koreana Plaza in Oakland, hoping not to spend too much money to replace the many lost lunch containers. They’re almost out of lock & lock boxes. They didn’t seem enthusiastic about ordering more. But then — in the grocery section — I spotted the most incredible divided boxes — about 9 by 9, with four individual containers and a nice-fitting lid. Amazingly, they were only $4.89. I snapped up the only two they had and felt quite good about my replacement lunch boxes. They look a little like lunchables, except of course, they’re anti-lunchables.

As a reward for my good shopping, I bought a very cute little Korean bento box, so small you imagine it’s used only by someone on a rigorous diet or a person so teensy they hardly ever have to eat. Me? I’ve got to make room for Thanksgiving, so I’ll be eating those teensy portions for a little while. And here’s what my boys are eating:

Tiffin Twin is having: 2 Korean cookies, the name of which I cannot decipher, but I can attest that they are delicious; smoked turkey baguette, cantaloupe, and nonfat vanilla yogurt, so rich you’d swear it was made with cream.

As for Tiniest Tiffin, he had something similar:

Except he likes his fruit on a stick, with cantelopes and those slightly scary cherries you can only have once in a blue moon (make that a red moon). He also doesn’t like his meat inside bread. And that closed container? Yogurt.

So, these two lunches, plus my own lunch for a teensy person, and a thermos of hot pasta (with delicious tomato sauce) for the other Tiffin Twin and we’re a family that has enough to last us to the end of the day. Here’s everything stacked and ready to go:

Eat up!

Written by bloglily

October 24, 2006 at 10:39 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. At the moment, there are two days a week when I’m eating two lots of take-out meals. Not healthy. Then there’s dudelets 2 meals x 3 days and supermum’s and my long-standing ambitions to quit croissants…

    Of course, I can envision buying the gorgeous lunchboxes (RETAIL THERAPY OPPORTUNITY AHOY!) But what we really need is the bloglilly guide to culinary time-management. Is it really as simple as you make it look?

    (un)relaxeddad

    October 25, 2006 at 8:27 am

  2. Ah, culinary time management. Do you mean, how are you going to pack lunches for your family three times a week and still manage to get a decent night’s sleep?

    If you search for I Love Lucy (or just Lucy) on the site, you’ll find a post I wrote about just that. Basically, in the morning (or if you can’t bear to get up early to do this, after dinner), gather together what you need and make three take out lunches. Nice lunchboxes just makes the whole thing go down easier, but they’re not strictly necessary. You might want to start by asking everybody what they actually WANT in their lunch and make sure when you grocery shop you get that stuff.

    Also, one good reason to make lunches at night is because you’ve now got a place to put those dinner leftovers. They’re great for lunch.

    One other random thoughts: the only way to quit croissants is to replace them with something less caloric that still makes you happy. I don’t know what that is, but you might have fun trying things out. (And make sure you have a croissant on Saturday morning, because complete deprivation makes people do foolish things.)

    I think that was too scattershot to be helpful, but I offer it to you anyway!

    bloglily

    October 25, 2006 at 9:30 am

  3. Koreana Plaza, now I know where you find thjose cool boxes. I scoured half of Oakland’s Chinatown, and scored a very cool hot lunch to go container, but no boxes. I know you bought out Koreana, but there are other Korean housewares stores. My little ones love to put the finishing touches on what they eat, so I try to give them something they can dip or spread– celery sticks with a tablespoon of peanut butter and a box of raisins can be turned into ants on a log. Seeded bread sticks with carrot slices and hummus was another score. I’m trying to get them to help more with cooking–daube has been a big hit a few times– basically, any dish that requires them to coat something with flour and then peel a lot of carrots is a hit. Love the tiffin tin!!

    marymom

    October 27, 2006 at 9:24 am

  4. Chinatown! I hadn’t thought about that. Other Korean housewares stores? We need to go on an expedition.

    And you are so right about dip. I think that might work with the veggies I’ve been unable to find happy eaters for.

    bloglily

    October 28, 2006 at 6:05 pm


Leave a Reply

