The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

A Lunch for Mom

with 4 comments

I noticed some signs the other day announcing that Larkin Street, which is next to my office, is part of “Little Saigon.”  Given my inattentiveness to things that don’t have to do with food, I’m guessing those signs have been up for a while.  But I have noticed one important thing about Larkin:  there are amazing Vietnamese lunch places on that street.  And the lovely sandwiches you can get cost about $2, which is a miracle.  This was my lunch the other day:  barbequed pork, a lot of carrots and a splash of some kind of spicy vinegary stuff,  a couple of those baked chips that really aren’t worth the money (alas), a juicy orange, and icy cold water.  It was a lovely lunch for a working mom.  It’s not all kids all the time around here, and that’s all I have to say about that.

Written by bloglily

November 7, 2006 at 1:59 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been developing a serious Korean fixation for lunch lately, especially bi bim bao (sp?) – three or four shredded vegetables, minced beef, rice, pickles topped off with chilli sauce and a fried egg. Two or three places do it as take-out though I have to leave the office door shut or the whole place knows what I’m eating…

    (un)relaxeddad

    November 11, 2006 at 12:22 pm

  2. That sounds fabulous. But you have indeed put your finger on the trouble with yummy take out lunch food — it can penetrate an office like nothing else. (Except microwave popcorn which has its place, but often is so overwhelming you want to kill the person who’s just made it.)

    bloglily

    November 12, 2006 at 4:53 pm

  3. hi
    bloglily
    remember me?
    i was just reading your backdated posts and i am enjoying them
    while reading this post i notice the carrots which you have used. how did you managet to get those even sized strips of carrots i am on a look out for a nice shredder so i thought you might help.
    thanks bye
    you can send me an email
    mahek

    mahek

    January 9, 2007 at 12:14 am

  4. Hello dear Mahek — I will send you an email, but I also wanted to say that these carrots were shredded by the clever people at the sandwich shop, not me! (I do own a Benriner mandoline, which costs under $30 and probably will do just this, although I haven’t yet shredded with that kind of precision.) Happy New Year, by the way. xo, BL

    bloglily

    January 9, 2007 at 9:58 pm


Leave a Reply

