The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

What Does An Eleven Year Old Vegetarian Eat for Lunch?

with 7 comments

                   

Yesterday, one the Tiffin Twins had to dissect a chicken, in preparation for mummifying it (good heavens, was all I could say about THIS science project).  He came home that afternoon and announced he is never, ever, ever eating any kind of meat ever, ever (did I mention he feels strongly about this?) again.

Okay, then.  So how about a piece of garlicky foccacia bread with some tomato sauce and mozzarella (aka pizza?), a couple of tangerines, an apple sprinkled with lemon juice and cinammon sugar and yes, dear reader, it’s true, I’ve actually placed marshmallows in my children’s lunches.  So sue me.  It’s the holidays.  Everyone needs to put a little bit of pizzazz into their lives.  Oh, and that’s holiday trail mix.  Peanuts and red & green M&Ms.  (See above for thoughts on pizzazz.)

I think I’ve got the important things here:  tomatoes, cheese, whole grain, protein/peanuts, fruit, marshmallows and m&ms.

Written by bloglily

December 7, 2006 at 11:29 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. We’re a chicken eating family here. It’s one of the first words the grandbabies learned to say.

    One of Becky’s friends are vegetarians, and their two year old daughter is as well. She’s bound to have some lunch suggestions if you need any.

    Me? I’m eating leftover Thanksgiving ham. 🙂

    I’m assuming it’s the Cold Lunch Tiffin Twin. Perhaps he’d like some soups as well?

    Sue Crocker

    December 7, 2006 at 3:43 pm

  2. Well, I’m vegetarian. There are always sandwiches, obviously, and health food stores that carry vegetarian ideas are always good. Usually yogurt, 7 grain bread, organic milk, fruit, animal snacks, peanut butter, cheese sandwiches, carrots, applesauce. That kind of stuff is good. I’ve been vegetarian since I was 12, but it depends on your child’s eating habits.

    Alicia

    December 7, 2006 at 10:18 pm

  3. hi
    great box
    lots of good food stuff to eat
    keep in touch

    shama

    December 8, 2006 at 3:50 am

  4. Hi Sue, In fact, it’s the hot lunch guy. Could be the other one, just as easily, but so far he’s managed not to have to do any dissection.

    And Alicia’s list is really good, particularly since it comes from someone who was a vegetarian as a child. (Welcome Alicia!) In a little while, I’ll post today’s lunch for him. My post might have been a little bit off the cuff, but I do respect his decision and we’ll see if we can find some good things to replace the salami they all love.

    Hello Shama — Thanks. I’m glad you came by.

    bloglily

    December 8, 2006 at 12:01 pm

  5. lily, i too pack nuts for my kid, but i heard from my friend that some schools have a nut free environment. have u come across that? And i understand ur son. I had to dissect a rat in 8 th grade and i couldn’t stop washing my hands for a week and couldn’t eat with my hands for a long time.(as an indian, imagine that!)

    shaheen

    December 9, 2006 at 6:26 am

  6. Hi Shaheen — One of my sons goes to a nut-free school. Not being able to pack peanuts is a bummer for all of us, but it’s apparently so serious a problem for the children involved that he’s careful to remind me not to put things like that in his lunch. The other two are at different schools, so nuts are fine there. It’s hard to remember sometimes though, especially early in the morning.

    Your story about the rat cracks me up — it’s interesting, too, to think that all over the world children have this in common!

    bloglily

    December 9, 2006 at 9:08 am

  7. Looks great, let me know what you think of my recipes:
    Some great Vegie Recipes available to complement here:
    http://vegatarian-lifestyle.blogspot.com/

    Kim Devonshire

    January 8, 2007 at 2:38 pm


Leave a Reply

