The Tiffin Tin

What\’s in your lunchbox?

In With the New

with one comment

                    

It’s inevitable that we greet the new year with the desire to do new things, be new people. For a very long time I did this in the spirit of recrimination, speaking to myself about my goals in ways I’d never speak to others — you’ve been so awful about food, now you’d better shape up. That kind of thing. And then for a while, I just stopped resolving to do new things at the beginning of the year altogether. This avoided the awful feeling of beginning a new project as penance for being a bad person, which is good. But it also made it difficult to take advantage of the momentum that is everywhere these January days.

And so I’ve embarked on a new course:  I want to create a healthy beginning to the year, a beginning that’s full of beauty and interest and inspiration, and a beginning that relies on small things, like a cake plate full of naval oranges.   I’ve sketched out a series of pieces on small things that can mean a lot and I’ll be writing about those for the next few weeks. I’ll have a few lunches in there too, of course.

The first in this series can be found at the Daily Tiffin.

Written by bloglily

January 8, 2007 at 10:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the cropped picture of the sun-kissed gleaming oranges on the white pedestal cake platter. Keep those small beautiful, inspiring items coming. With more pictures, of course.

    smokey

    January 16, 2007 at 9:56 am


Leave a Reply

